DENY IP – road to CCIE security

CCIE security written resources

Posted in Books, CCIE written, Study approach by denyip on August 27, 2008

As I wrote in my profile I passed CCIE written in summer 2007 ..So for sure I wont be able schedule lab in 18 months after passing so I need pass it again … I dont study separately for written – my approach is theory – lab – theory at this stage.. For example when did study for  TACACS+… First I went through RFC, security books chapters than did simple labs with debugs etc.. than I reviewed theory again

My MAIN  resources for theory part are:

1) RFC

You can use this search engine a find proper RFC for Radius, Ldap, IPsec… There is lot of valuable  informations

1)CCBOOTCAMP’s 2008 Cisco CCIE Security Written Study Guide

For my studies I bought its with  Quick reference sheet only one CCIE written book on the market. I bought ebook with 24 Hour Print Option – I printed all pages immediately after downloading

Authors of that book are Colby LeMair (CCIE 12968 from Cisco), Farrukh Haroon (network engineer from middle east – CCSP studying for CCIE – little bit strange for me but why not) and Brad Elis (CCIE 5796 CEO of Network learning)
I think book is very good written  – all topics from the written blue print are covered pretty well. It has 565 pages. The book table of contents is similar as blueprint for written . In the end of every chapter is set of tough questions…

2) Network Security Principles and Practices (CCIE Professional Development) (CCIE Professional Development)

Its quite old book but really well written and there are few great section (like AAA, IPSEC, GRE, IOS firewall)

3) Cisco website

If I need some configuration examples or some guide I search Cisco web … It doesnt apply for all topics but there is few really good documents for written exam

4) CCIE Security Exam Quick Reference Sheets

Its really quick reference , but I plan use it in final stage when you need quick review of all topics

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brandon Carroll said, on August 28, 2008 at 3:54 am

    Looks like a good plan although I could NEVER read an entire RFC. Zzzz Zzzzz Zzzzzz. 🙂

  2. denyip said, on August 28, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Brandon No worry me too… I just read most important parts

  3. Mark Gibson said, on October 7, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    I am actually thinking of taking the CCIE boot camp at Unitek, has anyone heard of this school?

    Here is the link just in-case anyone else is interested.

    http://www.unitek.com/training/cisco/ccie_bootcamp.php

    Thanks

  4. denyip said, on October 7, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Hi Mark ,
    thanks for input.. I dont have experience with Unitek but i found following (its from R&S but can be helpful)
    http://www.cciecandidate.com/?p=415

  5. Mark Gibson said, on October 15, 2008 at 2:27 am

    Thanks for the help 🙂

  6. Farrukh Haroon said, on February 7, 2009 at 8:31 am

    Just to let you know, I passed my CCIE lab before this post 🙂

    I wish you luck with your CCIE pursuit.

    Regards

    Farrukh Haroon – The CCIE working in the Middle East 🙂
    CCIE # 20184 (Security)

  7. Mark Gibson said, on December 5, 2009 at 3:27 am

    Just thought I would follow up with this, I took the CCIE Boot Camp at Unitek and it was AWESOME!! alot of work but worth the money, great location and great instructors..

    Thanks again for all your help.
    Mark

  8. Shahid said, on June 26, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    Farrukh Haroon (network engineer from middle east – CCSP studying for CCIE – little bit strange for me but why not)
    hehehehehe 🙂


Leave a comment